Archinect
anchor

U of Michigan vs. Upenn vs. GSAPP

flap1004

I'm an international student and was admitted to those three schools - U of Michigan is 2G option with $$ and 2yr program, Upenn is 1 yr program March II , and GSAPP is 3 yrs without $$ :(

I'm so confusing because three schools' design types are different and my portfolio didn't show anything.. something like fancy rendering images. I thought I would got an rejection from GSAPP, but they admitted me - I thought MIT or Harvard might send me admission letter :( GSAPP's admission is most shocking thing in my life!!

I already found information about those schools, but I cannot go attending open house so it is not enough for choosing school.

Since I'm an international, I have to think about after graduation and job in USA .. most importantly come back my country :(

OMG... one month ago, I thought any school that offer me $$ , then I will go there without thinking they are famous or not. I just want to experience and meet people studying architecture from different background. However, after I got admissions, I'm getting nervous.. They are so different from 1yr to 3yrs program :(

I just want to know pros and cons.. and differences of them. And also, is expensive GSAPP worth it? I cannot loan from school or get $$ since I'm not a citizen or permanent residents in USA :(

Please help me... OTL................ Please....

Mar 23, 09 11:43 am

If you cannot afford GSAPP then it could be an unpleasant experience.

UMichigan is not as famous as Harvard/Yale/Columbia internationally, but it is just as good (some would say better) for landing a job in the USA. If people like you don't go to Michigan and go back to their home country, then how will its international reputation improve? You have the power, be strong.

Mar 23, 09 12:53 pm  · 
 · 
Arciheboy

same dilemma as yours.

Mar 23, 09 11:38 pm  · 
 · 
thirsty