Archinect
anchor

Civil Engineering grad going back for M. Arch?

JurassicJoel

Hey guys, first post so go easy...
I'm a recent Civil Engineering grad from Drexel University. I've been working as a Civil Engineer's assistant at a well known real estate land development company in Philadelphia for the past 8 months. This job has definitely been a positive experience for me as I had originally set out to learn AutoCAD and feel that I've successfully developed CAD proficiency.

I have been contemplating pursuing a career in Architecture for a very long time. I had originally intended to do Architecture for undergrad but my 18 year old high school graduate self heard that it was competitive and you needed a portfolio (which I did not have). Looking back on it, I wish I had not let that sway me, but hind sight is 20/20. I finished my degree in Civil Engineering because I knew that I could and Drexel is way to expensive to "dabble" in experimental fields.

My question then is this: Do you believe that having a Civil Engineering degree would be a significant advantage coupled with a Masters of Architecture?

I've been getting responses along the lines of "it couldn't hurt..." but that's not what I'm after. I'd like to know if I should seriously consider a marriage of the two degrees or just stick with the Civil Degree that I spent many years and thousands of dollars obtaining. Give it to me straight because I'm on the cusp of a major life commitment!