Archinect
anchor

Graduate Architecture Programs

Hardeep Gujral

Hi All,

I am currently applying to Architecture Graduate School. My undergrad is in International Affairs. I graduated this past May from Lewis and Clark College with a 2.7 GPA and a 161 Verbal and a 158 Quantitative GRE score. I really want to go to an Ivy League and I am applying to Harvard, Columbia, Yale, Princeton, Cornell and U Penn, among other schools. Since my undergrad is in a major outside of architecture, I feel like my portfolio won't be the most important factor. Do you think I have a chance with my GPA and GRE? 

Thanks so much for the input!

Nov 6, 13 9:18 am
Beepbeep

your portfolio is what matters and especially with such a low gpa, you better polish the shit out of it get good recommendations and I would honestly look into doing career discovery at Harvard or Cornell or something to get a foot in the door and get a body of work for the portfolio, it is almost the sole thing on admission I swear it seems like it comes down to a yes pile and a no pile of portfolios. Oh and that M.arch is also going to cost about 150K.

http://www.gsd.harvard.edu/academic-programs/career-discovery/

Nov 6, 13 9:32 am  · 
 · 
Roshi

Since my undergrad is in a major outside of architecture, I feel like my portfolio won't be the most important factor.

Wrong. Your portfolio is still a major player, if not the most important one. They want to see what kind of design work you are capable of and whether your passion truly lies in design/architecture. All non-architecture majors are judged by their portfolio just like the architecture majors, just in a different category.

Nov 6, 13 10:49 am  · 
 · 
med.

Since your GPA is pretty low, your GRE scores might suplement that.

However, you are categorically wrong about the folio.  I too came from a non-architectural and literally spent months on my folio.