Archinect
anchor

Community College for Architecture?

ellez3

Hi, I'm currently taking a gap year after graduating. I'm an aspiring architect and have been accepted to Pratt Institute but could not attend due to personal reasons as well as the tuition.

I'm considering going to Community College and transferring afterwards.

So my question is this:

1. Is it difficult to transfer from a community college to a bachelor degree university? (if not articulated)

2. Do universities count community college credits? I've heard upon transfer, you have to start from year 1 if transferred from a cc.

3. Is it more expensive to transfer from cc to a college in another state?

Ive done well in high school and am pretty confident I can stay focused in a cc. If you know any CCs, suggestions would be really helpful.

Thank you

Nov 3, 13 8:17 am
Blacksmith
It's not difficult at all just depends on what they accept. I'd say take humanities and basic courses at CC.. Like Math, English, language courses, etc. Maybe even basic structures courses too. Every architecture school has it's own design philosophies and very few accept credits from other schools. That's been my experience. I was going to transfer from one BArch program to another but would have lost almost all my design courses. School were within the same state though.
Nov 3, 13 8:53 am  · 
1  · 
natematt

I did this.