Archinect
anchor

Newbie M.Arch I application prep/choosing grad schools help!

theunicorn

After browsing through thread after thread on this site, I decided to create an account so I could ask for advice myself. I would really appreciate any help with figuring out which schools I'd want to apply to, how I can boost my application, and how strong of an M.Arch I applicant I could be.

My background:

BA in biology, concentration in environmental studies. GPA of 3.85. I studied abroad in Copenhagen and took courses on sustainable development and urban design. I've also taken a 2D media course and did really well in the class; my pieces were among the strongest of the group.

GRE Scores: Verbal reasoning- 168; Quantitative reasoning- 161; Analytical writing- 4.5. I'm a much better writer than my score suggests haha.

I know I want to go into architecture. I know that employment isn't that great right now and that most people don't get to do all of the cool designing. But I love buildings and the built environment and the opportunity to combine my creative strengths with my analytical, quantitative skills.

I want to apply to schools with solid programs. Not necessarily big names, but ones that will provide me with a practical education. Of course I'd like a strong design program, but I want to gain the skills that I'll be able to use in the workforce. Right now I'm thinking about UMN, ASU, CCUNY, University of Cincinnati, Cal Poly Pomona, University of Washington, University of Oregon, KU, and Virginia Tech.

Thoughts? Advice? School suggestions? I'd prefer not to be in the south, and being in a more urban area would be great.

Oct 10, 13 12:12 pm
Roshi

University of Michigan is doing pretty well right now, consistently rated among the best and my good friends who started his MArch there this year says the program is well balanced. Its in Ann Harbor, so its more of an urban area.