Archinect
anchor

Change of Careers: Architect to Doctor - Impossible or Possible?

I graduated with a 5-year Bachelor of Architecture degree and I have been working in an international corporation for the past 2 years. Besides being a cad-monkey and slave, I am starting to think architecture is a dead-end in terms of its paybacks (salary, meaning, prestige, etc.)

I am currently considering changing professions to pursue a career in medicine as a doctor. I am aware of its long, tiring, competitive and extremely expensive process. Given my lack of background in science, it will take at least 10 years and 200k in debt.

1.) How realistic do you think it would be to change careers from architecture to medicine?

2.) Do you think this is worthwhile?

3.) Is this a good idea or do you disagree with me?

Any advice given is greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Nov 24, 08 10:49 pm
bravo_on_trace

wow, you must hate your job. ...10-years-and-200-k-kind-of-hate.
i don't have any advice except that you should probably ask a group of doctors this question too. i'm sure they'll have a different viewpoint than all the architects that respond to this. best of luck to you

Nov 24, 08 11:02 pm  · 
 · 
bravo_on_trace

ok i changed my mind i have some advice.

if you are interested in medicine (or are you considering the change for the salary, prestige, etc?) there are some kind of holistic-consulting studies wherein designers research how patient environments effect healing. As a shortcut you could get a Master's and look at that.... it'd be like... 2 years and 50k max. I don't know what the opportunities in that are like though.

Nov 24, 08 11:06 pm  · 
 · 
cmu268

i mean anything's possible if you set your mind to it. This is certainly a big change. I don't know how old you are, but 10 years and 200k is a lot of time and a lot of money, but if your truly unhappy maybe it's all worth it.