Archinect
anchor

laminating textile to steel..?

phased

i'm basically interested in knowing if this is at all feasible. i've researched high and low but can't come up with a definitive answer or method.

basically i have small (no larger in area than an a1 sheet) anticlastic membranes (some sort of fabric material) sitting between metal sheet planes (gal steel?). i want to know if it is possible to laminate areas of the fabric to the metal without the use of framing etc. in the process reducing the need for distinct catenary edges.

i can upload a simple SU file of my design if my description above is too vague.

Nov 3, 08 1:45 am
phased

i'm only an undergrad student so my experience with construction, particularly textile structures, is limited. but my thoughts so far is that some how laminating or ironing the fabric (maybe a hybrid fabric incorporating metal weaves?) to rusticated areas of steel panel. once again, this is merely a guess and not very in depth.

any advice or knowledge is welcomed!

many thanks.

Nov 3, 08 1:50 am  · 
 · 

i have done some fabric structures. there may be other ways to do it but we basically pulled it, clamping on the edges and creating shape by having something for the clothe to be stretched against. We covered the edges by wrapping it round a corner and covering with metal and other things...this probably sounds more complicated than it is but the effect in the end was basically a sheet of fabric ending with metal trim ( the two materials were in fact not connected and the metal trim was a weather and decorative cover only...)

Nov 3, 08 8:45 am  · 
 · 
job job

There is a material found in any fabric shop called 'interfacing'. This will do exactly as you have specified. Ironing or heating will activate the layer of adhesive, fixing your textile to the metal sheet.