Archinect
anchor

thesis - suggestions please

happyfeet

hi,
i am a final yr architecture student. i submitted my thesis on design of a fashion institute. the staff were not too happy as it has been dealt before.
how do i increase the scope of my project of modify it.
i want a topic where fashion is a part of a larger institute.
I am very keen on doing something of this sort because i want to do my special study on color, materials and lighting..

so i want some suggestions and help regarding this

Nov 2, 08 12:06 am
alucidwake

figure out what you think fashion is, then apply that to a building dedicated to the creation of that "ideaology"

Nov 2, 08 12:07 am  · 
 · 
Workshop B

develop a thesis about what you want to study devoid of what you want to design. A fashion institute isn't a thesis. You need a statement that you can test with the design of a project.

Nov 2, 08 1:50 am  · 
 · 

to state archca26's point another way, I think a trap people fall into is that the ideal program or site that they think is "full" of whatever it is they want to design--a fashion institute for a thesis about fashion--is actually not the best choice.

you have to recognize though how hard it is for someone to tell you "ah, you should be interested in this or that"--your thesis should reflect something of personal interest, not just a forum to play around with color, materials, and lighting--why not choose one of those three qualities of space and ask yourself why you find it interesting. And maybe you end up designing a hospital or a school, which at first may not seem relevant but gives you the opportunity to pursue your ideas in depth, and in an original way.

Nov 2, 08 3:28 am  · 
 · 
randomized