Archinect
anchor

Grad School suggestions please.

adamcho

Hi, 

I'm currently in University of Toronto in Canada. I'm majoring in Visual Studies and Art History programs. Visual Studies is basically practicing different fields of arts in practical way, so there are all studio classes. And 2013-2014 season will be my last year of undergraduate study.

After I graduate university, I have a strong desire to study in field of ARCHITECTURAL DESIGN for my future career, so I want to ask whether if I can study in master program of architectural design without having architecture undergraduate background. Or is there other way I can study architecture design without starting over from undergraduate 

Also, I studied German while in school, so it will be appreciated if you guys can suggest schools in Germany, if possible. 

Also, I've been consistently making and studying my portfolio for grad school.

Every suggestions will be grateful and thankful. Please 

Thanks,

Aug 26, 13 12:51 pm
natematt

I don't know about Germany, but most US schools that offer MArch degrees have routes for those with undergrad degrees in different fields. Normally the degree is a year or so longer, but it's not as bad as doing the whole four year undergrad.

Aug 27, 13 11:18 am  · 
 · 
observant

Ok, so you're in Canada.  Various provinces in Canada offer the M.Arch. to those who studied something else ... anything else.  Because general education requirements have been met, it can be formatted as a graduate degree where architectural courses comprise the entire curriculum and it takes 3 to 3.5 years.