Archinect
anchor

Advise needed! Business woman about to realize dream about becoming an architect

Henriette

I need help! I'm a bachelor in international marketing and have master courses in strategy and business. I have 15 years + international business experience from Europe and Asia... But not in architecture, design or any other related business. 

I have decided that I want to go back to my initial career dream... When I was still at college I was intern in architect company, as well as having a dad designing residential houses. I made a different choice and became successful in mobile and digital services business. 

How can I make use of what I have? I have excellent results from my other bachelor and master courses. I have professional experience.

Im ready to start both full time studies as well as online / distance learning to get started. I obviously don't have a professional portfolio - but I have many personal projects and tons Og drawings as well as photos.

Can you please help? Desperate to get some advice soon. Feel that I must do this change over the next 2-3 years. 

Thank you in advance! Much appreciated! 

Aug 10, 13 9:57 am

Henriette
I am certain you are much more equipped to enter into architectural studies than you might think, many schools have a Masers program with a 3 year track for nontraditional students such as yourself. Southern Illinois University, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign I know personally lawyers and accountants who chose to enter a design profession and are doing quite well from those programs. Be prepared for three years of intense study but it is possible.