Archinect
anchor

Non-Architecture Bachelor's degree ->MLA.

tsaiquan

Inspired by comments by observant and MixmasterFestus in a separate thread:

Hi All,

I am a recent grad from a non-architecture program (Environmental Science & Technology at the University of Maryland), but am extremely interested in pursuing a MLA in the 2014-15 school year. The subsection of my major (Ecological Technology Design) was presented to me with the idea of being able to contribute to sustainable and engaging design. While satisfied with the program, there is not much in the job market that is open to this field without a design or engineering degree. After some searching and introspection on what I really want to get out of a career, Landscape Architecture appealed to me and I wish I would have considered this discipline earlier so as to not feel somewhat behind right now. During my search, some Googling led me to this forum a few weeks ago and I lurked around for a while but have decided to reach out for input.

Does anyone have thoughts or advice on from you guys on making this transition would be helpful?

Side note: I am looking to move from the east coast study at one the following schools so any thoughts on those both program-wise and financial assistance-wise would be very helpful. In undergrad I was able to achieve a 4 year full ride and Pell grants thanks to my a low EFC and good standardized test scores. I’m not sure what would be available to an out of state grad student, but I am determined and will take out loans if it comes to that. Schools: Cal Poly Pomona, University of Washington, USC or UCB (I’ll likely only apply to one), Oregon, or UMD again for grad school if I must.

Apologies for the long thread. I always feel uncertain about posting these because I don’t want to take up too much attention.

Aug 8, 13 2:33 pm
observant