Archinect
anchor

Help! Grad School Question

tdunn

I am in the process of applying to M. Arch i programs at several schools around the country. My biggest concern is my portfolio because I am not coming from a design background. My GPA is high-- 3.8; and my GRE is good, too-- 1410 (on old scale). I will have good letters of recommendation and I'm not worried about my Statement of Purpose. I know that schools place a great deal of emphasis on the portfolio (as they should) but they also claim that for applicants to first professional programs not looking for advanced standing, the portfolio only needs to show creativity and basic skill in some physical form. I have a lot of set design experience from several years ago and I am also going to include "analog art," like painting and drawing. Do I stand a chance of getting into top ten programs without any recent, formal design experience?  

Aug 6, 13 1:36 pm
observant

Going to your very last question, the answer is yes.  However, expect not to get into all of your choices, but possibly a few.  I would also include a few "safer" schools, by dropping into the top 15.

Your GPA is impressive, as is your GRE (an average of 705 on each section).  They are very weird about what they want to see in 3 year candidates and no one seems to have a crystal ball.  Everything you indicate you'd like to include in a portfolio seems appropriate, providing it's good and is presented properly.  The slip the exhibits into a cheap portfolio holder days are gone.  Also, I would hustle and get into a digital design course for this upcoming term by taking it in the evenings somewhere so you can include some exhibits in the portfolio to show extra breadth.  That's my opinion.