Archinect
anchor

Getting into UT-Austin for MLA....

manoverde84

Hi all, 

I will begin a post-bac program in Landscape Architecture at UCLA EXT. They have a great program and I am really excited about it but my time in LA seems to be dwindling too. I still want to pursue landscape arch though and was wondering about the program in Austin. I hear UT has a top architecture school, ranked higher than UCLA actually. 

I was wondering if it were possible to take the courses at UCLA EXT for a good year, build a portfolio and then apply to UT-Austin. Would that help my chances of getting in? How difficult is it to get into the school for an MLA? Perhaps since I have no design background would it be better for me (and possible) to apply to do a bachelors? In this economy is a BLA any good? 

I would appreciate the help. Thanks guys! 

Aug 1, 13 10:15 pm
observant

UT-Austin is, without a doubt, a good university.  Landscape architecture is typically less competitive for admission than architecture across the board.  Their M.Arch. 1 has always been challenging to get into, but has become more so as Austin has become a "cool" place and UT-Austin has climbed in the rankings in most fields.  I'm sure their landscape architecture program would be equally good.  If you plan to work in Texas, the alumni ties are as strong as a pair of longhorns.  And, UT-Austin is known nationwide, too.

Yes, I think the extension programs at UCLA are good for preparing portfolios.  They are extension programs so, for some states, they don't prepare you to get a professional's stamp.  In California, I think the design professions don't have a stipulated educational requirement, but I'm not going to touch that.