Archinect
anchor

Am I right for architecture school???

vinsanimo

I'm a 19 year old student at Dalhousie University in Halifax, Canada. I did my first year in Arts & Social Sciences  (took psychology & sociology classes) and f***ing hated it. I almost flunked out of school, but did a summer program to keep me in for next year. I am still in the Arts faculty, but i'm taking architecture and planning classes next year.

I've always loved architecture, and I am a decent artist, so this summer, I have been developing a portfolio with some architecture student friends of mine, as I plan on applying to arch school.

From reading several forums, I am under the impression that arch school is extremely difficult, and the profession itself is not all it is cracked up to be: long hours, under payed, stress etc...I rarely hear anything positive for arch school/ profession.

I hope that these people are the depressed, unsuccessful people of the profession, and the happy, successful ones are too busy to post their opinions (no offence- everyone is entitled to their opinions)

BUT I am worried that this seeming passion will die while I am in school because of all of the time and stress, and I will end up quitting and wasting more time. from what i've gathered there's 4 years for bachelors, 2 years for masters, and more to get licences- a lot of time to get burnt out and frustrated. 

Any advice, or opinions?

Thanks

Jul 11, 13 11:03 pm
observant

Wow, I see a little of myself in this.  Are you doing poorly in social sciences because you don't like the major, yet are academically capable nonetheless?

Architecture school is NOT hard, in an academic sense, and all the technology classes are distilled to tabular data and algebraic formulas.  It is tough in an endurance sense.  However, if the major is enjoyable to you, then the longer hours will be more doable than shorter hours in a field you don't like.  The same holds true for working in the field.