Archinect
anchor

University of Hawaii??

th3pi5tol

Hello,

I'm a newbie here, but does anybody know anything about the doctorate program at the University of Hawaii at Manoa? All I know is that it is the only NAAB accredited doctorate program in the country. I'm deciding between Hawaii and the grad program at the University of New Mexico (I've been accepted to both). I've visited UNM and was very impressed with the faculty, students and facility. However Hawaii is an island paradise and it's a doctorate program!!! Any info or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

th3pi5tol

Jun 26, 08 10:45 pm
WonderK

I shy away from using absolute language when I'm not 100% sure about something, but I'm fairly certain that it's not the only NAAB accredited doctorate program in the country......but if you want to check, feel free to start with this list of over 30 other doctorate programs in architecture in North America.

Also if you want some other information, please start with the Search function on the main discussion page. If you still can't find what you're looking for, let us know.

Jun 27, 08 1:50 am  · 
 · 
drums please, Fab?

the pistol! ha!

Jun 27, 08 1:56 am  · 
 · 

there is a bit of a fine line here in regards to the university of hawaii's d.arch. program...

it's a bit of a misnomer to call it a doctorate... it is NOT a Ph.D... it is NOT a research/dissertation based program... i do think that it is accredited as a professional degree... if i remember correctly, it's a 6 year program... so it is no different than doing a 4+2 M.Arch...

for some reason a few years ago, UH decided that they were going to create this new degree program called a D.Arch... they're the "only NAAB accredited doctorate program in the country" because i'm pretty sure they're the only school offering a D.Arch...

anyways, i just want to make it very clear that D.Arch. DOES NOT = Ph.D.

Jun 27, 08 8:23 am  · 
 · 
aquapura