Archinect
anchor

Do i stand a chance?

Praseo

Hi everyone! so, here's my question. i'm currently in my final year of B.Arch. I failed an year in between and hence this is my 6th year. I'd really like to continue in this field inspite of the failure. I've improved after the year loss and am currently doing well enough. I'm from Bangladesh, and am doing my course in India. I'd like to apply for masters in a foreign university (preferably USA). I'd like to know, if i have a chance of getting into any of the good universities or is my year back gonna debilitate my chances. I'd really really like to apply to the top universities. Also, my gpa is only average.

Jun 9, 13 12:08 pm
rrnkenshin

All the "average" blurs in the halo of a brilliant portfolio. Just give it a shot, you've got nothing to lose but ~150USD/school to apply. Should you need some assuring pre-assessment, show some of your works here and see what people'd say in the first 10 comments.

Jun 9, 13 1:23 pm  · 
 · 
accesskb

hey .. Failing isn't the end of it all.  Real failure is when you've surrendered and given up.  People can keep growing as long as they keep trying.  This is what is messed up with our society.  They make you feel you're no good the first time you fail.  Everyone progresses differently, some faster and some stray out the path a little. 

I'll just end with some famous quotes by Edison

“I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work.”

“Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.”

Jun 9, 13 6:39 pm  · 
 · 
snooker-doodle-dandy

We all have our bumps in the road.  You think life went  along smoothly for Louis Kahn, Frank Lloyd Wright, Sanford White just to name a few....amazing thing is their names still hold our interest.

Jun 10, 13 10:04 pm  · 
 · 
HeyImNew