Archinect
anchor

Switching to the Architecture Field and Pursuing a M.Arch I

jaccivalino

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone could give me any insight to what I should do since I would like to switch my field to architecture and will be starting to apply to M. Arch. I programs at the graduate level for the Fall of 2014.

My background is as follows:

• Bachelor of Arts in English
  • Minor in Art
  • GPA 3.58
  • Signed up to take the GRE on August 8th, 2013

Goals:

• to practice architecture (obviously)
  • specialize in preservation (through master's program with architectural preservation courses or a graduate certificate in historic preservation)

I'm not sure which schools to apply for and which schools I could get into. I would like to go to the best school possible and somewhere that may have a program tailored for this type of interest.

If anyone could give me some suggestions/insight it would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you! :)

Jun 8, 13 5:25 pm
observant

Some cool stuff:  BA in English, of the liberal education choices, seems to be well liked because it's sophisticated, and so is architecture.  Well, there's a faux intellectualism to both, so it works!  An art minor is definitely a plus.  Your GPA is more than what is necessary to gain admission, even to the best schools.  I'm sure you'll do fine on the GRE, especially in V, so bone up a little in math if you have to.