Archinect
anchor

Rhino model is slow, any remedy?

freeezerburn

I have built a model using block x-reffed in from smaller files, so my model is pretty small, about 8 or 9 megs, but my model is moving excruciatingly slow despite this as i try to navigate the work space. i don't really know how else to describe the situation (i am an undergrad student), but my model constantly crashes because "windows has run out of memory," etc despite the file itself not really being that large. is it just that i am using a lot of repetitive parts? also, i get messages about meshes, and i am pretty sure my model shouldn't be a mesh.

anyway, i know this isn't a very specific question and i lack a lot of knowledge about rhino, but i just don't really know why this model is so slow. i have built more complicated things than this before in rhino and the model hasn't been nearly as bad.

also, after inserting a block instance into the model, i can just copy that instance around, rather than re-inserting everytime, right? i am just trying to figure out reasons it's so slow and crashing.

Mar 19, 08 1:28 pm
Apurimac

Hmm, only thing I can think about is your video card may not have the oomph (ram, chipset, software, etc.) to render frames of it quickly in the workspace hence it will petition your system for help and you will run out of ram. This happens frequently enough with large models and high polycounts. My best advice is to run it in wire frame which always helps. Also try running your system with all background apps turned off, go into MSCONFIG, go into startup and turn all your start-up apps off. This will free up as much ram and CPU as possible.

If you've set up your components in other files and all you need to do is render, turn as many layers off as you can to set up your shot. Keep basic massing, but turn all the rest off completely. When you have your shot angle, turn everything back on then render.