Archinect
anchor

M.Arch in AA London or UC Berkeley?

sayeleta

Hello to all,

I'v been accepted to two very different M.Arch programs abroad (I'm an international student) - the AA school in London Sustainable Environmental design M.Arch program and the UC Berkeley Studio One M.Arch program.

The two programs are very different, but does anyone has an opinion which school offers a better M.Arch program, or other considerations to choose where to go next year?

Thanks anyway

May 5, 13 4:27 pm
Janosh

Do you intend to practice in the United States/do you need a professional degree?

May 5, 13 6:18 pm  · 
 · 
observant

^

Exactly.  You're going to be asking a lot of Americans, and Americans like the San Francisco Bay Area.  As for London, I've been and I can do without it - depressing and pretentious.  Since this is your first exposure to architecture, be forewarned that Berkeley's graduate program, even the 3 year, is way more theoretical and current development oriented, than it is "bread and butter."  But, since you are applying to the AA, you probably don't want "bread and butter."  And, if you came to the colonies, you could economize on your spelling in words such as program(me) and colo(u)r.  Also, kudos for spelling Berkeley correctly.  Even the smartest people sometimes spell it Berkely.  Being American, I'd go to Berkeley, and then take extra construction and structures classes in the summers between at one of the cheapo Cal State (second tier system) universities... or somewhere.  I have no idea where AA stands on its balance of the ethereal and the pragmatic.

May 5, 13 6:55 pm  · 
 · 
sayeleta

Thanks for your responses.

I'm holding a 5-year BArch professional degree, so it's not the basics but the extras. I do intend to practice in the US, and believe that my current degree is sufficient.

Both programs are short-termed (16 months for the AA program and 12 months for the Berkeley program).