Archinect
anchor

Paid Internship in Europe

Hi, i am a junior salvadorean architect. I hold a dual degree en Architecture and urbanism with 3 years of international experience ( El Salvador, Costa Rica and China). I am looking forward to obtain a paid internship in a european company/ studio.

I would like to know wich architecture companies are recuiting the most foreign interns currently. In wich companies and countries i have the chance to get the best remuneration and experience considering my educational and profesional background. And the ebst periods to apply fir this

Thank you

Apr 30, 13 2:00 am

Hi,

There are very few firms (maybe none) that 'recruit' foreign employees. Especially at this time when so many young architects are unemployed in Europe. I worked in Berlin the last 1.5 years and can tell you the competition for shitty, unpaid work is severe. There are lots of grads from all over the European Union looking for a position, and they have 2 important things that you don't: degree equivalency and the right to work anywhere in the EU.

By the sounds of things, you aren't an intern in the European sense. An intern in Europe is still a student who usually only gets a small stipend between 400-600 eur/month, because they still receive financial assistance from the government while a student. 

You are looking (and should apply as) a junior designer or junior architect with experience, not as an intern. If you accept work like 'mini-job' or 'intern' or 'praktikum' at your level, it will just encourage architecture firms to continue devaluing graduates and pay them as students. 

By all means try to apply wherever catches your fancy, but just expect that you will spend much more money than you will make by working in Europe. 

Apr 30, 13 10:03 am  · 
 · 

Thank you Stephanie.