Archinect
anchor

Cornell vs. SCI-Arc (M.Arch I)

AA23

Hey Everyone,

I am an international student confused between Cornell and SCI-Arc for my M.Arch I.

Surely, Cornell being Cornell sounds tempting, and I find SCI-Arc's pedagogy to be a bit of a rebel without a cause .. though I have to say, SCI-Arc puts out the most interesting work I have ever seen. But, the most important factor I think in choosing a school is how much does it teach you about being a professional. I am worried that Cornell being at a place like Ithica, will not introduce me to the professional side of architecture as much as SCI-Arc being in LA, full of practising architects as professors and firms in the city, will. I don't wanna spend 3.5 years of my life just studying to finally come out with little to no idea about where to start and what to expect !

Anyone having any insight into these matters, please share your views. They will be deeply appreciated.

AA23.

PS: Also, is anyone here still figuring out how to show the insane amount of money Cornell needs in its Financial Requirement From for internationals ? I think its the only school that needs to see the 3.5 year of tuition and living expenses lying, gathering dust in your bank account !!

Apr 15, 13 4:02 pm
AA23

Anyone ?

Apr 18, 13 7:19 am  · 
 · 
cr8ve

Cornell

Apr 18, 13 2:13 pm  · 
 · 
jacobcohen

Agreed, mostly because I am going.  Don't know much about SCI-Arc, but Cornell's open house really impressed me.

Apr 18, 13 2:33 pm  · 
 · 
AA23

Jacob, I would love to hear about the Cornell open house !! Anything you can tell me will be very helpful. What things impressed you the most ? What do you think the future holds after Cornell ?

[email protected] .. This is me.

Apr 18, 13 4:27 pm  · 
 · 
wydqc

I went to Sciarc for undergrad and doing a master in Cornell.