Archinect
anchor

I can't draw...can I be an architect?

zdphotos

ok, so I'm taking a drawing class right now, Art 101 and I'm learning that while I can improve, my hand drawing skills are sub par.

To what extent can I still be successfull in the field of architecture without that talent?

I can say that right now I am a computer professional so I am tehcnology savy and have already started with the easy-to-learn Sketchup product. I feel like I have decent ideas but I don't express them well by hand. opinions?

Jan 29, 08 12:22 am
citrus.grey

It sort of depends, drawing is a technical skill which, although very much related, is not completely necessary to a successful pursuit of your architectural interests, perhaps at one time it was more important but now representation is moving away (hopefully not too far away) from hand drawing skills so as to provide someone with sub-par talent in this area the opportunity to present their ideas clearly and beautifully.

That said, from my experiences so far (final year of arch. undergrad) a natural aptitude for basic drawing belays a more important and possibly necessary skill which is an aptitude at spatial perception. Good hand drawings start with a good understanding of what you're looking at, how pieces interrelate in three dimensions and how this thing you're seeing relates to your own body as you draw it.

Relatively speaking I’m just starting at this too, so I'm not sure what to make of this aspect of design yet (skills in spatial perception), I’m sure it can be developed, but I’m also pretty sure that some people have this ability to think intuitively about spatial relationships at their fingertips and some don't.

I guess I’m rambling so no, I personally don't think you need to be able to draw to be an architect, I know plenty who can’t. But yes, I do think you need to intuitively grasp three dimensions (a skill often revealed through hand drawing) to be a successful architect.