Archinect
anchor

1st stop internship, next stop MArch II... Couple Question

international_applicant

Hello guys!

Here's the situation: I am a 5th year architecture student and I have been working all my projects, competitions and workshops with the same person since  my 1st year. That person happens to be my fiance who is also a 5th year architecture student. We share the same dreams and ambitions about architecture and thus we would like to ask your opinion on several matters.

We are planning to send applications for internship this summer and next year we are hopefully applying for our MArch II program based in the US.

How does it sound if we send the exact same portfolio, as all the material is 50-50 produced ? And when we say same, we mean format, font, everything.

What about the cover letters?

What are the chances to be accepted at the same time (intership firstly, MArch II secondly)?

Waiting for answers!

Thanks a lot

Feb 17, 13 11:29 am
international_applicant

anyone?

Feb 18, 13 11:39 am  · 
 · 
vado retro

send half of what you've done as your work and half as fiance's work. i somehow doubt that schools are going to respond well to this Captain and Tennille scenario.

Feb 18, 13 12:50 pm  · 
 · 
JWassell

submitting the same exact thing, is an awful idea. For schools or firms.  

To begin, your putting yourself in a position where its a both or neither situation, which may be great for you, but for the party that is admitting/hiring, that means you're both useless alone.  for individual tasks, or for individual classes and projects, they have no clue if you can even function as a human being, let alone a designer.  It is more likely they would dismiss you both, rather than take the chance.