Archinect
anchor

IIT Undergrad Seeking Portfolio Advice

rjm1990

Hi there,

My name is RJ Magoon, I'm currently completing my last year of my B.Arch at IIT, and was hoping to get some portfolio advice for upcoming internships through career fairs and potentially grad school later on. I was an intern this summer at SOM in New York, but will probably be looking for something a bit more local in the Chicago area for now (and potentially at a smaller firm).

Anyway, if anyone could give me some advice on the current draft I'd appreciate it. There is a much more condensed portfolio for sending via email so let me know if you'd like me to post that as well.

Thanks very much,

-RJ

Link: http://issuu.com/rjm1990/docs/portfolio

Feb 5, 13 5:53 pm
Nathan_B

You have a great resume, a lot of really interesting looking work, with eye-catching renderings, clear diagrams and some nice models. Where I find the portfolio could use more help is in its layout. As a blanket statement, your use of margins and "white" space could be improved. All your text is very tight up against the ends of the page which makes it feel constipated and rushed. Pull the text away and introduce more vertical spacing between your lines of text, especially in the titles and descriptions for each project.