Archinect
anchor

Portfolio Critique

e.m.g.

Hello everyone.

I am new to Archinect. I have been putting together a design portfolio to apply for graduate schools and was wondering if anyone could give me some feedback?

I have a unique design background in Visual Communications (BFA) and Architecture (BS). I wanted my portfolio to reflect some ideas about me as a designer in addition to just projects about architecture.

It is largely a portfolio about ideas, process and hand drawing rather than finished product and renderings; as a work in progress, I am a bit concerned for this as well as its overall length.

I'd really appreciate any feedback and constructive criticism so I can improve it!

http://issuu.com/eemcgowan/docs/designportfolio

Thank you for your time,

EMG

Jan 18, 13 3:39 pm
boots cats

High five. That looks really sharp.

Maybe think about giving your sketches more room to breathe? There are a few pages where the sketches are so dense together that they start to just blend to a pretty texture of "sketching", rather than actually standing on their own as drawings. 

Page 15, did you intentionally change the spelling of "Angkor Wat"? Page 35, "massiveness" and not "massivness". Or just "mass" maybe. Or "monumentality?"

It seems kinda awkward to put your name after that quote on page 3. I feel like there is a certain type of person who cites their own quotes, and you probably don't want to be that person. [Especially since the sentence is already in the first person. It's obviously you speaking.] The sentence itself is good and looks nice on the page.

Overall, you're in really good shape.

Where are you applying?

Jan 18, 13 6:48 pm  · 
 ·