Archinect
anchor

modo luxology 301 - any views?

Urbanist

Anybody know anything this 3d modelling product?

It has a low pricepoint and seems to be a fairly powerful sub-d modeller... plus mac compatibility. I'm angry at autodesk and looking for alternatives...

Sep 15, 07 5:17 pm
Carl Douglas (agfa8x)

It has a nice interface, and an a-grade subdivision modelling system. Very Mac-friendly. It's no Maya, but that might be a good thing. There's a full demo available. I've played with it a bit. What sort of modelling do you want to do?

Sep 15, 07 9:08 pm  · 
 · 
Urbanist

mostly high-poly-count multi-layered urban environments.. big files.. a lot of to-and-fro'ing with acad/dwg... some imported solid geometries from DP. I'm a veteran 3ds max user, with some Maya, vis, DP and rhino experience. But I'm really not happy with autodesk now (ended up getting licenses renewed for boot camp based on their advice, only to find that their darn license-management software is unstable on it.. and then to get yelled at by their customer service for having the temerity of trying to use their product in an unlicensed way.. apparently using it under boot camp is a violation of the autodesk license agreement or something stupid like that). Anyway, I'm tempted to try to crack their software, not because I plan to pirate it, but just for personal use, as a perfectly legal paid license holder, just because they're so bloody annoying (not to acad: chewing out your paying customers is not a good idea).. unbelievably, their insanely bad programming and less-than-zero customer service actually incentivizes loyal, paid users like myself to defeat their licensing protocols. Anyway, enough griping.. I'm looking for a mac native alternative that can handle high polygon counts in a sub-d environment.

Sep 16, 07 7:43 pm  · 
 · 
Carl Douglas (agfa8x)