montu

Looking to purchase a 3d printer..
Thoughts?
Recommendations?
Concerns?
Any direction would be helpfull.

Aug 18, 07 9:55 pm
garpike

What kind are you interested in? What are your intentions with the machine?

starch
I have a lot of experience with the ZCorp machines. The models are very detailed (0.007" layers), and I believe the newer machines are even more detailed (0.004" layers - and thinner!). The resulting material is fragile, but can be dipped in resin to become much more durable. Sanding the models is very easy before and after dipping. Since the model is built within its powder in layers therefore supporting itself gravity is not an issue - that is until you have to remove the part. There are limitations.

ABS
The models are ABS plastic, which is a cool translucent white plastic - though it can yellow with time And they are durable as long as you don't have thin members. They break off, not by the fragility of the material, but because the heated plastic goo tends to make globs that weaken the members. You can glue parts that break off. ABS is less detailed (0.01"). The layers are very visible due to the streams of hot plastic. Imagine poche-ing your drawigs with a sharpie. With patience, you can sand it smooth.

These machines are available with or with "support" material, which is a brown water-soluble material that is built with the model to hold complex parts during the build. The upside is complexity, the downside is you can't always ge all of the support material off your model. And sometimes it gets trapped in the material resulting in visible brown stains.

Photopolymer
This is the best of both worlds. It is plastic and detailed. However, it is pricey. And models subjected to heat or sunlight will droop. The material is cool almost transparent, but does yellow with age.

Aug 19, 07 1:08 pm  · 
 · 
binary

good info garpike......

Aug 19, 07 1:17 pm  · 
 · 
garpike