Archinect
anchor

diagrid structure

demonstrate

hello people...i am a student of architecture..i am designing an automobile museum and want to model the diagrid structure..i'm using revit and unable to figure out a way to model it... need help..my thesis final jury is approaching and have very less time to model it...

please help me..

the images show the mullions but it is not diagrid obviously...

Nov 21, 12 1:41 am
calculator

if you can't model it on a computer how will somebody build it?

Nov 21, 12 2:10 am  · 
 · 
sausages

you can do these really easily in rhino with the grasshopper plugin called lunchbox. it has a diagrid function both for making a structure, as well as panels from nurbs surfaces

http://www.food4rhino.com/project/lunchbox

Nov 21, 12 7:14 am  · 
 · 
demonstrate

thank you sausages....

but now i was finding it difficult to learn rhino and model it..as i have worked on revit so far..and the only video available on diagrid on youtube is for simple rectangular building..

still i would give it a try...if you could send me some tips that would be very supportive...

@calculator...yes you are right mate..but it is definitely possible for this building and i would suggest you to look out for diagrid strctures..you will believe me and in my design..

Nov 21, 12 11:47 am  · 
 · 
accesskb

screw diagrid... your building is tilting to the right and it definitely doesn't look like a design intent.  Looks more like its being sucked into a black hole.

Nov 21, 12 1:22 pm  · 
 · 
demonstrate

i am guessing you have not seen the image i have uploaded...

i asked for help and not for comments on it..i'll definitely do it and post a pic of it...

http://www.asce.org/uploadedImages/CE_Magazine/Articles/Web_News/2012/07_July/30_mediagallery_download_ART.jpg

http://designalog.files.wordpress.com/2011/12/phoenix-international-media-center-by-biad_ufo.jpg?w=614&h=409

it is people like you who inspire me to continue with this...thnx mate