Archinect
anchor

Architecture vs Interior Architecture

douglas7

I am a student at a communtity college taking classes in hopes of transfering into a arch program... currently I am tossing back and forth the idea of architecture & interior architecture. My main problem is that everyone I talk to dosen't have a concrete answer about what interior arch entails... i dont want to be an interior designer and was told there is a difference.

does anyone have any guidance?? thanks

Jul 11, 07 1:28 am
Carl Douglas (agfa8x)

Interior architecture is just architecture, but there is less (or no) emphasis on structural stuff, and more emphasis on human-centred experience. Good interior architecture programmes are experimental spatially. Bad ones are interior decorating. The former is great. The latter is not.

Every interior architecture programme defines itself differently. All you can do is ask particular courses what their approach is.

There is no clear line between architecture and interior architecture.

Jul 11, 07 2:19 am  · 
 · 
KEG

ok, please excuse the ramble to come because I can hardly keep my eyes open...

wow agfa8x...good description! I was worried when I saw this thread considering the general tone archinectors take concerning interiors. I have a BFA in IA. I too transferred from a community college where I initially major in architecture, then took both Arch and ID classes, and finally transferred to a university to study IA. I am starting my MArch at Penn in the fall (the next step in a deliberate plan).

It is difficult to compare majors in general as your experiences will vary an enormous amount depending on the school. Do you have specific programs in mind? Or, what is it that intrigues you about design?