Archinect
anchor

Pre-Professional Architecture School

haleydav

When making my college decisions I was very much on the fence about going to a 4+2 program or a 5 year architecture program. I decided on the 4 year and I am currently in my 2nd year of a small pre-professional liberal arts degree. I have  realized that the liberal arts path and this school is not for me and I am very ready to start more intensive studios and related courses as well as be in a program with more students in my major.

I am considering trying to transfer to a 5 year program. Would you recommend this?

And if not, can you suggest schools that have good 4 year programs? 

Nov 6, 12 12:41 pm
Paradox

Definitely go for the 5 year program so that a masters degree will be an option for you not a must have. I had a 4 year degree and I was pretty screwed because of that. The 4 year program is totally worthless today.

Nov 6, 12 1:59 pm  · 
CrazyHouseCat

I got a 4+2 and am a firm believer of its value.  But I think it's important to select a different MARCH school from Bachelors.  It gives you the needed varied perspective.

My piers with 5 year professional degree all have somewhat limited perspective of what constitutes architecture since they got it from one place and one place only (also because they have 1 less year of exposure and development).  Also, though it’s a choice, people with 5 year BA seldom go back for MARCH. 

Of course, your degree and the school from which you obtained it do not guarantee a successful career.  But, despise what you hear, a Masters is and will always be more respectable in this profession that values knowledge and expertise.  If may not matter initially when you are hired to just draft, but that’s not where your career will / should remain (hopefully).

Nov 6, 12 2:58 pm  · 
1  · 
ARCHCareersGuide.com