Archinect
anchor

Graduate School Portfolio

Hello all,

My name is Matthew. I graduated from CSU Northridge in Urban Planning May 2011. As of now, I am applying to graduate schools: UCLA, Cal Poly Pomona, SCI-ARC. I have been working on my portfolio for about 2 months now, and am looking for some guidance. My portfolio link below displays my work in progress:

http://issuu.com/greensolutions/docs/ucla_portfolio_callihan

Any critiques, comments or questions would be amazing. Thank you!

Oct 18, 12 7:17 pm
snail

Your portfolio has potential but needs a lot of editing.  Make it denser. Show more conceptual diagrams. Show more process work (sketches or study models) for each project.  Overall you need to do a LOT more showing instead of telling - Right now you have a lot of repetitive documentation of how your buildings look, and not enough documentation of what they mean. For example for the i-shift project on p. 6/7 you would only need to show one elevation to get that part of your idea across, but you have four. For the same project, you write about some interesting ideas about integrating plants into the design, and having the individual apartments move. You should remove that text, which the admissions committee probably isn't going to read on the crucial first pass through your portfolio, and instead show those things happening visually in diagrams. (with concise captions and/or catchy headlines where appropriate)

Something similar happens on pg. 13 where you have four very similar images of the same study model for the black square project - reduce that to one, and remove the background of the cutting mat.

For the river improvement project, look at how prominent contemporary architects (or even infographic designers) visualize data in compelling ways. Right now your analysis looks like some generic report produced by an accountant. The cheesy drop shadows only make matters worse.