Archinect
anchor

UPenn versus Northeastern

Archlafesh23

Hello All,

I'm writing to get some thoughts on my Grad. School Decision. This Spring I graduated from Northeastern University in Boston with a B. of Science in Architecture. During this 5 yr. program I worked 3 six months coops in Boston and NYC. I know that I have a job in NY if I want it. Heres the kicker: I have the option to stay at Northeastern and receive an MArch degree in 1 year...OR I can go to UPenn for 3 years.

I understand the significance of a Penn degree and I know that I would enjoy the program. BUT money is becoming a huge concern, as I am already 100,000 in debt. Thoughts anyone?

I've also considered getting the MArch from Northeastern and then trying for the Post Professional degree at Penn to "mix up" my education.

May 14, 07 3:49 pm
KEG

Northeastern has an MArch?

huh, didn't know it.

you should go to Penn with me and be in lots and lots of debt like me.

good times.

May 14, 07 4:36 pm  · 
 · 
treekiller

grad school isn't meant for people with $100k of debt already. you'll never be able to pay off $200k in loans, so don't do it! get the m.arch from NE and don't waste any more time or money in the process. Penn will possibly make you take all 3 years.

ps- kent state also has a 1 year m.arch for BSers.

May 14, 07 4:45 pm  · 
 · 
Say No to Student Loans

Yea, Penn is isn't a good value for most, ecspecially you.

May 14, 07 4:48 pm  · 
 · 
KEG

bdf,
"Penn is isn't a good value for most"

can you elaborate? I get the "ecspecially you" part.

May 14, 07 5:20 pm  · 
 · 
vado retro

a hundred k in debt is not a good value for anyone, unless they have family money in which case daddy will pay. the costs of an architecture degree are ricockulous and you all should revolt.

May 14, 07 5:27 pm  · 
 · 
futureboy