3ds max best 3d application ever?

mav.archi

Apr 9, 07 10:24 am
PerCorell

Yes.

Apr 9, 07 10:30 am  · 
 · 
mav.archi

even for architectural work??the tools are completely <<un-architectural>>.i can achieve few modest renderings quite faster by using archicad.

Apr 9, 07 10:43 am  · 
 · 
Pacific

yes.

Apr 9, 07 10:55 am  · 
 · 
cowgill

@mav.archi - what version? depends on who you ask. Dedicated arch-viz guys will tell you they do everything (model, texture, lighting, render) in max without modeling in other programs.

As an architecture student, I think max doesn't "feel" like an architectural modeler like Form-Z or rhino... but max is definitely the shiznit for texturing and rendering!

for me, If Form-Z had a better renderer (like FinalRender or VRay built in) that would win, hands down, the "best 3d application ever?" crown

Apr 9, 07 10:59 am  · 
 · 
med.

I don't like archicad. The renderer looks especially silly.

Apr 9, 07 11:40 am  · 
 · 
mav.archi

@cowgill 3ds max 8-9 .i m a student and till now worked only with 3ds max, archicad and tektwn a greek prog.haven't tried rhino and formz yet neither microstation do you think i should try ?

Apr 9, 07 11:56 am  · 
 · 
cowgill

only if it will help your work. I modeled effectively in Autocad until I found FormZ but everyone works differently and you may not need to learn another program. The learning curve for Z is supposed to be fairly steep so don't expect to (although you can learn the basics) sit down over a weekend and come out of the oven monday with both barrels bazing...

as a software "type", Z is not a BIM program which means you have to build things piece by piece which is what I personally like about it... that control. Compared to Archicad which is marketed as a swiss-army-knife type of program that does everything from modeling to lighting to rendering to construction docs... Z is rather old-school.