Archinect
anchor

Total newbie in need of advice to get into architecture

kim1

Hi, I'm a complete newbie to architecture, looking for ways to prepare for and apply to a 3+ M.Arch program.

I am currently an Econ undergraduate (2nd yr) at University of Calgary (Canada). Even though I wouldn't mind a career with my Econ BA, it has always been my dream to be an architect (I realized it's better to pursue something I WANT to do, instead of spending rest of my life doing something I could care less about, even though I'm good at it) so I decided to change my career path to Architecture. I'm prepared to take my time slowly to make sure I get in.

I'm planning to do a Minor in Architecture to have some foundations before going into M.Arch program.

So my question is... how do I start preparing my portfolio? Like I said on the title of the thread, I am a complete newbie in terms of fundamentals like drawing, modelling etc. I simply have NO IDEA what and how to start on this... 

http://evds.ucalgary.ca/content/master-architecture-march-admissions

This is the portfolio requirements for UoC, in case you were curious. (I'm also interested in UoT and Waterloo)

I'm thinking of taking some art lessons, and spend some time learning AutoCAD.

ANY career advice or comments will be appreciated.

Jul 24, 12 6:10 pm

Before you get in, make sure you've got an exit strategy.

Seriously.  That advice is golden, yo!

Jul 24, 12 6:18 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

You need to ask yourself some questions?

1. Do you do what it takes no matter what to accomplish a goal?

2. Do you have a history of setting goals and following through?

If you don't have a history of doing what it takes no matter what and following through, then architecture is not for you.

Jul 24, 12 6:50 pm  · 
 · 
gwharton