Archinect
anchor

Vectorworks Tutorials

antipod

Anybody have or know of some free tutorials for Vectorworks 12.5?

I have to learn this sucker fast for my new job and the user manual is rubbish.

Ta.

Feb 19, 07 12:50 pm
mightylittle™

where do you live?

there are lots of vectorworks users groups around the US.

check out this.

they're pretty helpful in my experience.

also, if this is for an employer, find out who their local VW rep is and see if they'll send you the tutorial CD's that come with all new versions. they're also pretty helpful.

not to dig my own grave, but pm me if you want some answers to some specific questions. i'm no expert, but i've been using VW for a while and might be able to help...

Feb 19, 07 6:41 pm  · 
 · 
antipod

Great. If i was back home in NZ: no problem. Over here in the UK: nada. Typical.

Thanks ML I'll drop you an email if I ever get really really stuck but I can usually just bug the others in my office.

My real concern is that they seem to do EVERYTHING in 2D with no kind of linking of files just loads of copy and pasting groups. It just doesn't seem efficient. I'm too used to ArchiCAD now...

Anyway, I'm still new to it, so I'll just have to muddle on.

Feb 20, 07 3:09 am  · 
 · 
mightylittle™

workgroup eferences are your friend. they're VW-speak for x-refs.

screw the copy/paste masses...i've wasted too much time of my life already re-drawing redlines on my floorplans and on my rcp and on my struct. backgrounds etc etc etc...

either work up a sophisticated layering convention or get used to workgroup referencing.

my $.02.

ml

Feb 20, 07 11:46 am  · 
 · 
antipod

Only been using it 3 days now. Still getting used to drawings things with twice and many clicks!

Feb 20, 07 12:15 pm  · 
 · 
knock