Archinect
anchor

Presentation sheets with scale drawings

tommy

Hi there, can anyone help me please?
I currently use archicad 9 to produce my cad drawings and photoshop to produce presentation sheets. I have noticed that a lot of people in the gallery have produced presentation sheets with scale drawings on. For instants a saw a really nice elevation that faded as it went along the page. I can do this in photoshop, however I can not use scale drawings as my line thicknesses get distorted when I export as a dwg or dwf and the scale is also messed up. Can anyone suggest a program in which I can produce presentation sheets with several scale drawings on or tell me the secret to producing work like this?
This may seem a really stupid question, if so I apologise as I am new to cad. I am a student just starting out.
Thank you

Tom

Jan 28, 07 3:18 pm
arri

hi tommy,
I use autocad, so when I want to create presentation boards I just create a PDF from autocad. I'm sure you can do the same thing in archicad. Just plot out like you would to a printer (with the scale you want) except to a PDF plot file.

Once you have the PDF. You can open in Photoshop or Illustrator. If you open in Photoshop a window will pop up asking you what DPI you want to set the drawing at. I use 300 DPI.

If you open the file in Illustrator, under file,document setup type in the page size you want. That's all there is to it, I hope this helps.

Jan 28, 07 3:37 pm  · 
 · 
tommy

Hay thanks for your reply. when you say open in terms of photoshop do you meen file>open> pdf (file name)?

Does this distort the scale or the line thicknesses?

Thanks again for your reply, much appreciated

Tommy

Jan 28, 07 4:46 pm  · 
 · 

try the Postscript printer to produce eps files

Jan 29, 07 2:22 am  · 
 · 
tommy

I tried that which seemed to work when i opened the drawing in photoshop until i draged the eleavtion onto the a2 Canvas. then the scale was messed up again. line thickness is still a problem as well lol