Archinect
anchor

help! casting shadows in lines?

super pink

hi guys

newbie here in desperate need of help/suggestion. here's the story...

i need to do shadow casting of a part of a city to see the differences thru out a year (and also at different time in a day as well). originally i did a sketchup model but then my tutor said he want to see the shadow casting in lines on the plan drawing instead of what sketchup normally give. so i thought ok ill just draw the lines from the pic i save from sketchup. that didnt work at all coz some parts are small or overlapping it gets too confusing and also look incredibly awful. so im trying to use sun chart and draw the shadow lines from autocad. i thought i could do it coz i already did the section drawing in autocad using angle from sunchart but.. as i mentioned its partial of a city...its friggin confusing and giving me headache and nightmares and it doesnt look like im going to finish all of them in this lifetime. i really need some help please. anyone know the program that show the casting shadows in lines? you'd just be saving my life. really. thank you.

Jan 16, 07 3:57 pm
noci

your tutor sounds like a prick

seriously tho why dont you trace them in autocad? it'S pretty good if you underlay the file with the sketchup pic and i.e. trim xlines so that you gave an even shadow horizon.,,

other than that perhaps you could get a vector render plugin for your modelling programm, render with shadow turned on and then remove the fill in a vect. edit program.

Jan 16, 07 4:26 pm  · 
 · 
therpeuticlotion

i think you can do a section cut in plan view, hide the section plane and then turn the shadows on.

Jan 17, 07 8:31 pm  · 
 · 
therpeuticlotion

sorry, that is assuming he is willing to accept a perspective plan. our prof will take either cad drawings or sketchup section cuts for plans.

Jan 17, 07 8:33 pm  · 
 · 
strlt_typ

i hope your tutor gives the program a good grade for the class...

Jan 17, 07 8:41 pm  · 
 ·