Archinect
anchor

Is ArchiCad worth the time to learn?

emilyrides

I'm in my first year of school, and AutoCAD seems to be the software standard used everywhere in the professional arch world. The thing is I spent the last five years working a design job where I used AutoCAD everyday, so I'm pretty well set with using it. I was poking around on the web, and I noticed that students can get a free copy of ArchiCAD (for MAC!) so I got one, and I've spent a bit of time messing around with it. It feels much more intuitive to design a building in ArchiCAD, than AutoCAD, the program is just skewed towards making dwelling. What I'm wondering, is does anyone on the pro world use ArchiCAD? Would it be useful for me to spend my time learning this program, is is a total waste of effort? I'm just curious, as it seems like a well designed and useful piece of software. Thanks in advance for yout help.

Nov 16, 06 1:32 pm
evilplatypus

I used it. Then went back to ACAD.
Theresr been many a thread pro/con archicad - check the history

Nov 16, 06 2:21 pm  · 
 · 
crowbert

I use it - I find the drawings just look significantly nicer and more like drawings on the screen.

That said, acad is used just about everywhere, though that also means every other CAD program has some means of converting into or out of it. I'm also biased as I started on v10 and used a digitizer - man, that was one ugly program.

But I like it for both its graphic qualities and its integration of 3D.

Pappageorge Haymes uses it - They have work that's a pretty good sized scale. The hardest thing with any CAD software that's not ACAD is that its not ACAD, but I've never found it to be a big problem...

Nov 16, 06 2:50 pm  · 
 · 
joshuacarrell

It really doesn't matter, where you get hired will use whatever they use. ArchiCAD is used all over, so it ADT, Revit and a bunch of other programs.
If it will help you with your school work, go for it.
j

Nov 16, 06 3:30 pm  · 
 · 
sedrik

Check these guys out: