Archinect
anchor

2007 M.Arch applicants, commiserate here!

robust84

does GSD and Yale REALLY want photocopies of our tax returns and W2s? And our parents? That's a lot of junk to photocopy.

Jan 28, 07 10:14 pm  · 
 · 
cpnorris

I imagine that GSD and Yale (and probably other schools too) will request that info if you are accepted but I don't think they are requesting it just to apply.

Jan 28, 07 11:01 pm  · 
 · 

ACK! The fafsa just told me that I'm expected to pay $14,000/year! Is there any way to uniformly appeal this, with the reasoning that I obviously won't be making this much when I'm a full-time student?

Jan 28, 07 11:24 pm  · 
 · 
WonderK

rationalist, my FAFSA told me that I am supposed to be contributing $16,000 a year. I am holding out hope that this is some reference to the poverty level or something. I am sure that it will all work out eventually but I am still researching scholarships just in case.

I have also decided that in the event that I can't pay for school, I am still getting the hell out of dodge and camping out somewhere else until I get a job. At least now I know that I am leaving. It's the where part that we don't know yet!

Jan 29, 07 12:06 am  · 
 · 
robust84

rat and won -

does that "expected contribution" that the fafsa is telling you mean that the feds expect you to pay $14k (or $16k for wonderk) actual money per year and that they will cover the rest through loans? or can you get loans to cover that $14k?

i'll be finishing my fafsa tomorrow. will be interesting to see what they spit out at me.

Jan 29, 07 12:12 am  · 
 · 

It means that they tell the schools you apply to that you can afford to pay $14k. Whether the schools give you a financial aid package that covers the rest is up to them. It does not guarantee anything in terms of what you will be offered, unfortunately.

Jan 29, 07 12:54 am  · 
 ·