Archinect
anchor

working in the Middle East, a trend ?

M+

I keep on hearing/reading about people moving to the Middle East -mainly Dubai & the arab gulf coutries.
is it a trend? are people going after a better pay? or it's just the magnet effect of the big boom?

Sep 9, 06 4:33 am
bRink

I guess where there's money and development for design and nice buildings architects will have jobs... But is a city like Dubai a good place to do good design, or just "luxurious"?

Sep 9, 06 10:10 pm  · 
 · 
bRink
Sep 9, 06 10:17 pm  · 
 · 
sid1

Well, I have been working in Dubai for the last 2 years, and I think that most people come here only to make money. Unfortunately, the whole market is very commercial in nature, and money drive. Most investors/clients have a lot of money to spend, and only want to create ego-centric architecture to become famous. There is no sense of design, or a sensitivity towards design. Also the deadlines, are so un-realistic that there is no time for any design development. Its straight from concept design, to detailed tender stage. I suggest to everyone who wants to work here, just visit it once and have a look around, you'll realise it yourself.
Having said that, does anyone have any ideas on possible locations to work as an architect and do good work. I am a world citizen so mostly the whole world is an option for me.

Sep 10, 06 9:12 am  · 
 · 
Hasselhoff

These guys are hiring in the Middle East.

Sep 10, 06 12:01 pm  · 
 · 
M+

sid1, you're right, it is very commercial, i know 8 architects that have been working there, & they're saying pretty much the same.
However, developers are starting to realize that Dubai became about 'sameness', & it seems that 'design' will be their added value to reach again their ego-centric architecture as you described it. A lot of them are looking at stararchitects to achieve their vision.

Sep 10, 06 1:17 pm  · 
 · 

Block this user