Archinect
anchor

"What I learned during my first year of architecture school" - call for contributions!

dedubs

I'm writing an article for our school's publication. The first issue is coming out soon and we're doing an introduction/welcome to the incoming freshmen. If anyone has any advice/aecdotes/tips/tricks they would like to contribute, please do! I'm open to serious contributions as well as tongue-in-cheek comedy. Thanks!

Sep 2, 06 11:59 pm
swisscardlite

well currently i'm in first year so i'm technically learning but I'll share a few things

you dont' know anyone but the people in your studio
everyone crashes parties after a crit
"why are we studying shoes?! i thought this was architecture!"
the cyle of projects never stops...even on weekends
arch school is really fun
you go to sleep at 4AM every night
you learn how hard it is to appreciate architecture when you're tired.

Sep 3, 06 1:57 am  · 
 · 
b3tadine[sutures]

don't waste your time reading the fountainhead, telling me your interpretation of the fountainhead or anything about the book, but see the movie it's a classic...

i don't care that you like frank - anyone named frank

read books, your magazine collection does not impress me

art, literature, music - don't bore me

make sure you bring your own x-acto blades, i hate sharing

oh, buy your own scales and other shit

be prepared to suck, because you will

if you like your sleep good, means more studio space for me, and more likely than not you'll be transferring at mid-year

no, i will not share my stash - if you know what i mean

your high school gpa means shit in architecture school, if you think because you were valedictorian in high school translates to great architect, then you will be the one i will hire to get my coffee

i hate your idea, so stop asking

Sep 3, 06 7:37 am  · 
 · 
trace™

The person that owns the Dremel is one popular guy/gal.

Anyone with a car that'll take you to the supply store must be a friend