Archinect
anchor

summer internship..

Archilearner

i am a junior from an non-professional architecture program and i really want to do an internship next summer...

any ideas for

how much would i get paid?
where should do an internship?
Should i go for a big firm or a small private one?

Thanks!

Sep 1, 06 8:29 pm
swisscardlite

i'm on the same boat and i have this question as well. when should I apply? and if i'm a first year student, what are my chances of getting a paid summer internship?

Sep 1, 06 8:38 pm  · 
 · 
Archilearner

Can't someone share some ideas with us regarding above questions, please?

Sep 4, 06 1:11 am  · 
 · 
karma1881

I am an arch student well into my education, and I know what you may be going through. This summer I completed my first real summer internship. I say real because my prior experiences where more like working 2 days a week, hauling product samples, and organizing the library. What I did this summer, and what you should be looking for, is a place that gives you a wide variety of tasks, from building models to editing contstuciton documents, and perhaps designing small parts of the project. Where you work 5 maybe 6 days a week and are seen as an asset and a person who can input ideas and questions to the design.

2. Preparing for the Job:
Looking back, I feel like a missed out on my earlier years of school because of timidity, procrastination, modesty.

Now in order to land a job you NEED a cover letter, a resume, and a portfolio. Don’t apply without either of these even if you feel you don’t have experience or work for your portfolio.