Archinect
anchor

Finance and architecture

A1

Hello archinecters,

Do any of you know of any jobs in finance for architects? How do you go into the field? Thanks.

Aug 18, 06 1:33 pm
some person

Like CFO of an architecture firm?

All I know is that:
1. If you're talking about an amount that's less than $1,000, it's pronounced "fine-ance"
2. If you're talking about an amount that's greater than $1,000, it's pronounced "fih-nance"

Aug 18, 06 3:58 pm  · 
 · 
A1

Not quite. Maybe I should have said "banking and architecture". I had in mind something like real estate analyst but I was wondering if there is a job in that field that is more related to architecture.

Aug 18, 06 5:02 pm  · 
 · 
some person

I see...thanks for the clarification.

I used to work as a facility planner, and many of my co-workers either had only financial backgrounds or combined architecture and financial backgrounds. Basically, I focused on "everything that occurs on a project before the architect is hired," including client visioning, programming - which is tied to the project budget, feasibility, etc.

Try a search for "feasibility study" as it relates to construction - you may be well-suited for this kind of work. But don't be disappointed if you don't get to design anything. (That's the reason I left the field and returned to architecture.)

Aug 18, 06 5:49 pm  · 
 · 
A1

OK, I'll look it up!

Aug 18, 06 6:14 pm  · 
 · 
trace™

look over Amazon's real estate developer books. Everything with developing is tied to finance and money, from feasibility studies to banking and loans.

There are also degrees you can get and certificates. Any real estate development book will cover some of this (feasibility studies, cash flow diagrams, etc.). You can surely find books specifically geared towards the financial side.

Personally, I find it both fascinating and extremely boring.