Archinect
anchor

Go for a M.ARCH, don't go for an M.Arch??

ripomatic

AHHHHHH. I have no background in architecture. I'm not a brilliant artist and the word engineering terrifies me. BUT I am in love with buildings. I'm very interseted in art, and smart and driven and obsessive about my own personal projects.

Should I go back to school for an M.Arch? Someone, please throw me an idea. I get so envious of the arch students that I meet. But am I just being a romantic about the idea of designing buildings and creating spaces? Or, about how being an architect enables you to physically manifest your own ideas and ideologies?

I'm afraid to walk onto a career path that I may be ill equipt for based on a misinformed dream.

Aug 9, 06 2:09 am
Hasselhoff

Please see 9823982193 threads featuring similar backgrounds: AHHHHHH. I have no background in architecture. I'm not a brilliant artist and the word engineering terrifies me. BUT I am in love with buildings. I'm very interseted in art, and smart and driven and obsessive about my own personal projects.

Doesn't matter. YOu will love it or hate it, but usually can't tell until you do it. You can be a great artist and engineer and be an awful architect and vice versa.

Me for example: geology background, minor interest in art (like making stuff, but not really looking or studying), took one art class in college, like looking at at buildings, did career discovery at GSD, got totally pumped up, going to one of the 'top schools' and doing well, wondering if I will actually make architecture my career.

Aug 9, 06 2:24 am  · 
 · 
ripomatic

So, it's a crap shoot? I'm 24, I know I've got some time, but I dont want to be farting around for too long either.

Although, I guess I'm asking for the impossible...uh, can anyone peer into the future for me?

Aug 9, 06 2:34 am  · 
 · 
Hasselhoff