Archinect
anchor

IDP and Internship Questions

Katze

I have a question about the IDP. I am just beginning the process (e.g. reading the requirements, filling out the forms etc.) I have an opportunity to work with a retired architect - although retired; he still dabbles as a consultant for city and regional planning. He would essentially be my supervisor, and he would regularly assess the quality of my work. My role would be to work alongside him to gain experience in the areas of programming and design development.

My question is this - could the term "retired" possibly mean that this person is no longer certified and/or registered as an architect? This is obviously a big concern, especially if the IDP requires that you work alongside a certified and registered architect. I did a name search from the AIA site, and unfortunately, his name was not found in the database - but I do not know if this means that he is not registered.

Also, besides Archinect and the AIA / AIAS, are there other good resources to find work in an entry-level position (intern or other in the Portland, OR area) Although I have years of software engineering experience, I have limited architecture experience, and it seems as though every job requires a minimum of 2-3 years working in an architecture firm. Any comments / suggestions? I would especially be interested in hearing from folks that have made a successful transition from one career to architecture.

Jul 22, 06 9:44 pm

NCARB requires that all your work credits be under the supervision of a registered architect. He can be retired and still have his license however. I know many non-practicing architects who keep renewing their license even though they don't use it anymore. maybe this guy does the same.

If not, then perhaps he can find a friend or colleague who is registered who can sign off on your credits for you after he vouches that you actually did the work.