Archinect
anchor

airport design

idealist08

hi i am a junior architecture student and we have been tasked to design an airport. it's a domestic airport to be located in a province in the philippines. i am planning to incorporate the concept of sustainability and blob architecture. i hope you guys could help me and tell me where do i start with the research...what do i need to take into consideration..

Jul 20, 06 7:51 am

make the basic idea (your idea) for the airport drive the project.

'blob architecture' is not a concept but a conceptually empty formal predisposition.

'sustainability' is not a concept but a way of thinking about every project. an individual project doesn't need to be a manifesto on sustainability. it merely needs to be considered holistically and sustainably on the way to pursuing a larger set of ideas.

what ideas might you bring to a project as rich as an airport in a place like the philippines? think ideas before means or techniques.

Jul 20, 06 7:58 am  · 
 · 
FrankLloydMike

maybe this is a bit naive, but what exactly is "blob architecture?" i've heard the term tossed around, but never really looked into it.

i really like what you say there about sustainability, steven. there's a professor here, who i haven't had, but who hates the term "green architecture," because he says there should be no such distinction. architecture should take sustainability into account in just the same way it does codes, siting and so on, but it should not (usually) be a concept or "manifesto" as you say. i've always admired your well-reasoned and insightful comments, too. you're like an e-mentor.

anyway, i've seen a few books specifically on airport design that would probably be worth checking out. sounds like an interesting project. good luck!

Jul 20, 06 10:26 am  · 
 · 
treekiller