Archinect
anchor

Revit

kwarch

Do any / many use Revit software?
What are it's pros & cons?
How is it for models? for CDs? As a design tool?
What's the learning curve?
Other?
thanks

Jun 16, 06 11:43 am
morfo

Which city you are located at?
Check out autodesk's new seminar series.
http://www.adskhost.net/39704/index.php?nav=b06&src=mbbsdarchdm&div=BSD&cc=DM&lang=
I just went to the on in SF. I have never used Revit before but heard about it. It seems to be that it's a very powerful tool, especially for doing small to medium size projects.

Jun 16, 06 11:48 am  · 
 · 
kwarch

thanks yiyi.
planning to attend a revit intro session in july.
"small to medium size projects" has been viewed a concern/limitation.

Jun 16, 06 12:10 pm  · 
 · 
modo

Does anyone think Revit will eventually run on the MAC?

I think the ultimate platform is Apple OS on a a MAC running Revit.

We've been using Revit on a Windows platform for about a year now doing some pretty meaty projects. I am completely convinced this is so much more powerful than Autocad or Microstation. However, I just like the Apple OS so much better.

Jul 20, 06 10:18 am  · 
 · 
orEqual

Not sure what's happening in other areas, but D/FW has Revit MANIA. People are learning Revit (my firm is giving in-house training) and then being stolen away by other firms. Add that to the general hiring frenzy already taking place, and it's pretty clear that I missed the D/FW architecture sweet spot by about 2.5 years.

Jul 20, 06 11:55 am  · 
 · 
bRink

for a smaller project revit is awesome for cranking stuff out and being able to make changes... communicate it, get the drawings out

Jul 21, 06 11:07 am  · 
 · 
bRink

on a side note, i dont think autodesk will ever do the autocad kill, but i think it could very soon become integrated and secondary to revit... used primarily for drafting out details, in "drafting views"

Jul 21, 06 11:09 am  · 
 · 
allcaps