Archinect
anchor

Interaction Design and Architecture

gracie

I'm an MFA student at Art Center. I'm thinking of applying for a term at SciArc to get more involved with designing interactive spaces. Can anyone say if there is much of this going on there or in any architecture schools? I'd love to hear reccomendations and comments on specific instructors, studios, or ways that you have experimented within the field of interaction design.

May 20, 06 6:35 pm
quizzical

My daughter recently graduated with a degree in interaction design (part of an industrial design degree program) and we discuss this topic from time to time ... to the best of my knowledge, most schools of architecture have no particular links to -- or knowledge about -- the world of interaction design. My impression is that this form of thinking about design has yet to penetrate the world of architectural education to any meaningful degree.

Since few architects seem to understand what this discipline is all about, I provide this link: So you want to be an Interaction Designer

This link does include the names of some schools that are "forward thinking" about interaction design ... most of these schools do have architecture departments, although I have no idea whether any cross pollination has yet taken place.

May 21, 06 12:38 pm  · 
 · 
PsyArch

I studied MSc "Ergonomics with Human Computer Interaction" (in the Psychology department). The course, as such, does not run any more. The two were not explicitly linked in the teaching syllabus, however, many of the methods of investigating Users and their mental models (expectancies) that come from HCI/Interaction Design are applicable to building design.