Archinect
anchor

Real Estate Development Degree decision

minnie

Does anyone know anything about the MS in Real Estate Development at MIT Center for Real Estate, and MDes in Real Estate Development at Harvard GSD? I got accepted to both programs and am evaluating the pros/cons of the two. I have done extensive research but would also like to hear some opinions from someone who has worked with recent alums, or has attended these programs. My background is BArch. After working for a couple of years at an architectural firm, I became more interested in urban planning and real estate development, and applied for these degrees. I hope to work in a real estate development or a real estate consulting firm after graduation. I am also considering an MBA, although I am not sure if I will really need it if I have a masters degree in real estate. Any advice/input is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

May 9, 06 5:55 am
trace™

Congratulations. Probably can't go wrong with either. You'll make bank, inevitably. Good career choice, imho.

I'd go for the dev degree over the MBA. I am sure they'll teach you all the boring biz stuff you need to know, where the MBA is very generalized for just business, not real estate (meaning you'll probably learn even more boring stuff).

Smart man. If more architects went this way, the world would most likely be prettier. I am jealous! Wish I had thought of that before my MArch.

May 9, 06 8:35 am  · 
 · 
brian buchalski