Archinect
anchor

slr vs. non-slr digital cameras

swisscardlite

I'm thinking about investing in a slr camera but i'm not sure whether the high price that comes along with it is worth it or not.

I for one am not a professional photographer but I have a strong interest in photography. I hear that slr cameras are reliable and they will last for a long time. I will be an architecture student and I think a slr camera will be useful in case I study abroad or travel, or even document projects.

My question is, is investing in a slr camera worthwhile? Because I can save a lot more money by buying a far cheaper but still decent digital camera (like the canon powershots) and still be able to carry it around easily whereas it wouldn't be as convenient carrying a slr camera around. The picture quality of a slr camera is much better but I hear only if you know how to handle it..and as an amateur, I don't know if ill be able to utilizie a slr camera to its maximum potential.

The slr camera I am currently thinking of buying is the Nikon 50D, which is pretty cheap for a slr camera but still is quite good.

Any photography enthusiasts out there that can offer me some advice?

many thanks!!

Mar 25, 06 5:55 am
Ivan Kriakov

if you have to ask whether or not to buy an slr, you shouldn't buy it. They're bigger, heavier, and more expensive and break easier, and unless you have a few high quality lenses or are planning on buying some (over 500 a pop) its just not worth it. All the entry level slr combo lense kit such as the one you are suggesting come with a cheap lens, you're far better off buying a high quality compact digital. I'd reccomend the olympus c-7070, It is one of the few that has a high quality zeiss wide angle lens (27mm equiv.) good for arch and it's cheaper than anything else anywhere near in quality, about 350 online, it'll take much better photos than a nikon 50D with shit lens.

Mar 25, 06 9:23 am  · 
 · 
trace™